Skip to content

Dinner Friday August 8, 2013

August 3, 2013

I’m having so much fun cooking at the station right now and I thought maybe I could resurrect this old blog and share our meals.

My interest in sustainable eating, organic, local, GMO free, etc…continues to grow. We’ve signed up for a CSA run by a lady farmer who farms not far from our station. It’s hard to get more local than that. This summer we have had some of the best tomatoes, squash, cucumbers…oh…the cucumbers! Watermelon, peaches, potatoes and fresh eggs…oh my!

My sad little garden has been…well, sad. Spider mites and some critter have kept the tomatoes from doing much, squash and zucchini grows like weeds but after about the third one…I’m good. The cucumber beetles got the cucumbers. And the peppers are tall and beautiful…but without many peppers. On the positive side the strawberries and asparagus look great so hopefully next year we can enjoy those. I am a food gardener work in progress.

Tonight we used some of the CSA peppers and onions along with some grass fed beef that I had frozen in some marinade. Along with fresh flour tortillas from the market, organic cheese and sour cream, the fajita feast was amazing. I also used some cucumbers, tomatoes, onions and cilantro to make a sour cream based salsa…yummo.

For dessert we had fresh homemade vanilla ice cream (preservative free, no GMOs) and some leftover peach cobbler from last shift.

The guys are great because they also love to eat and will eat, fresh, healthy and interesting…unusual for fire guys.

I’m going to try to photograph our creations but please understand…I AM NOT a food photographer. Nor could I even play one on tv.

20130802-212409.jpg

20130802-212421.jpg

20130802-212430.jpg

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

